The One Where We Got Married.

So.  We got married on Saturday.

In no particular order…

I loved that my dad was there to walk me down the aisle.

I loved that it was small and intimate.

I loved that we wrote our own ceremony, peppered with inside jokes and quotes from the likes of Carl Sagan and Madeline L’Engle.  I loved that we tweaked Edward Monkton’s “A Lovely Love Story” to include video games and knitting.

I loved that we found a way to include all of our siblings in our wedding ceremony.

I loved that my Aunt Linda married us.

I loved that we got married outside, on the shores of Kezar Lake, under a cloudless, blazing blue sky, under very tall pine trees and the outline of the White Mountains.

(I did not love picking the pine needles out of my lace wedding dress.  But totally worth it.)

I loved the Pleasant Point Inn, I loved Papa’s Florals, and I especially loved Molly Breton Photography.  I loved our chocolate, raspberry and buttercream cake from Frosted in Maine, and I loved Meghan Breton for doing hair and makeup for me, my mom, my sister, and my nieces.  (Meghan doesn’t have a website, but if you are in the Sebago Maine area and need hair/makeup done, let me know.)

I loved that Erik’s brother was able to fly out from San Diego at very short notice to be best man.

I loved my friend Diane and her daughter Lorelai for stepping in and helping with all the setup stuff because my mom was busy with my dad and 87-year old grandmother, and my sister had to drive up from Massachusetts that morning.

I loved our dinner with Erik’s siblings the night before the wedding at Ebenezer’s pub.

I loved that my nephew gamely tried to help with a torn quad muscle, and that my brother-in-law was able to step in and deal with our music situation.

I loved that Erik’s sister Carol lent me her diamond earrings so I had something borrowed, and his mom gave me an antique ring so I had something old.  (My shoes were blue and the dress was new.)

I love that in almost every picture I’ve seen that I am literally beaming from ear to ear.  (I worried that I would cry hysterically all day.)

I loved our post-reception campfire by the lake, under the stars, with s’mores.

I loved that so many people were understanding about needing to move the ceremony up due to my dad’s illness, especially those folks who couldn’t make it due to their own health issues or prior commitments.  I loved that despite the fact that we threw the wedding together in three short weeks, it didn’t feel that way.

I love that we get to call each other husband and wife now.

I especially love this picture:

12019914_10153028044266237_1370961918215093171_n

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

