Oh Look, It’s Snowing Again

We have at least three feet of snow in our yard, possibly more, with two more feet predicted to land over the next two days.  I’ve spent the past two weeks arranging, then rearranging, my schedule – and I expect this week will see another round of it.  Mostly I think we should just all agree to postpone everything until March.

The other thing I’ve been doing is filling up the bird feeder.  There must be very few food sources around because our yard is teeming with birds, including a flock of juncos that leave funny little prints in the snow.  There are also a couple of pairs of tufted titmice (little gray birds with mohawks), a number of chickadees and sparrows, and a pair of cardinals.  Also, sort of oddly, I’ve seen a couple of robins up in the trees – I have no idea why they are still around, or what they are eating.  I’ve been trying to take pictures of the birds but the minute I open the door they scatter.  I finally caught the male cardinal up in the tree this afternoon, looking both plump and cold:

???????????????????????????????Meanwhile, the cats are hunkered down inside.  Dip is losing whatever is left of her little kitty mind because she cannot stand being inside; however, she appears to equally despise the snow.  She will go out, shake the snow off her paws with every step she takes, and then five minutes later is back at the door, mewling her little high pitched squeal as if to chastise us for the snow.  And then she turns and smacks Speedy (E’s other cat) upside the head, for no apparent reason other than Speedy exists.

???????????????????????????????For whatever reason, Dip leaves the birds alone – the only time she killed one was last summer when a nuthatch got inside the house, and we’re pretty sure it was half-dead when she got her paws on it.  The squirrels, on the other hand, get chased up trees.  Now we’ve seen Dip climb trees before, but when chasing squirrels she gets to the bottom of the tree and just sits there.  I have no idea why she doesn’t follow the squirrels up the tree but she doesn’t; she just sits there at the bottom of the tree until something else catches her attention.

Finally, in some other news, I got a haircut this weekend.  It’s about as short as it’s been in years, because I’ve finally reached the point where not only has keeping up with the gray become an exercise in futility, but the gray is stubbornly refusing to be colored anymore.  I swore I’d let it go when I turned 40, and then decided perhaps 50 was a better number…but alas, it wasn’t meant to be.  I had hoped to find a way to gradually transition it but short of shaving it all off, there’s really no good way about it.  (And really, I would shave it off if I thought I could get away with it at work.)  My hairdresser suggested that come spring I might consider going even shorter, but the shaved head idea aside I like keeping my hair long enough to at least tuck behind my ears when necessary.  So, not sure about that.  Luckily my hair grows pretty fast, so hopefully by this summer it will look better.  And next winter I can have silvery hair and wear black turtlenecks and channel my inner Diane Keaton, so all is not lost.

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

