Sickness and Startitis

Greetings from the land of the sick.  After two weeks of E suffering from allergies, last week I managed to get an ugly, ugly cold – the likes of which one usually sees in February, not late August.  I finally started feeling human today, but of course now E is sick with it.  And because E was fabulous to me, making me soup and fetching medicine while I was coughing and sneezing and retching up phlegm (ugh), now I’m (trying) to return the favor.

In between my sickbed duties I’ve been up in the sewing room working on a couple of quilts.  One of my favorite baby quilt patterns is Yellow Brick Road by Atkinson Designs, which I love because it takes just six fat quarters of fabric to make (plus borders and backing).  Here’s the one I made for my cousin’s baby earlier this year, using some “beachy” fabrics (because the baby’s late grandmother loved the ocean):

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????I’ve mentioned before that my hobbies are seasonal, and the hint of fall in the air was just enough to make me break out the sewing machine.  Last weekend, in a raging fit of start-itis* and while watching Witches of East End on Netflix (it’s so terrible, but I kept watching it…and then watched new ones On Demand…), I cut up blocks for two new quilts using the same pattern.  Today I finished sewing the blocks together.  Continuing the nautical theme, there’s a lobster quilt in the works:

???????????????????????????????

And there’s also a batik elephant quilt in the works:

???????????????????????????????

There are three sets of blocks that get made for this quilt, and part of the fun is arranging the blocks to balance the fabric placement.  ???????????????????????????????

Of course I had the usual extra help with this task:kitty help 3

???????????????????????????????

 

*Startitis:  a condition in the crafting world where one is compelled to make All The Things, right now, resulting in numerous projects being started before anything is actually finished.

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

