And on the Seventh Day…

Behold:  yesterday a tiny tomato shoot appeared!  (look to the right of the arrrow — it looks weird because the seed pod hasn’t fallen off)

???????????????????????????????This is one of the Roma cherry tomato plants (the second one I planted also has an inkling of a shoot waiting to unfurl).  Even though all of the plants have a 7-14 day germination I was starting to panic, thinking nothing would sprout.  I’ve had a hard time finding the right spot for these to get enough light and warmth; I’ve been alternating between next to the kitchen sink and on top of the dryer in the laundry room (which has the most southerly-facing window).  I’ve been toying with the idea of buying grow lights, but I’m pretty sure my grandfather didn’t use them and his gardens turned out just fine.  At the same time, I wouldn’t need a huge set up, and maybe it’s worth the extra $30?  Not sure yet.

***

I was home sick for a few days with a bad cold, so I got virtually nothing done this week.  I did read “Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education” by Michael Pollan.  It may have been the cold medicine, but I fell asleep a lot while reading it.  I did like his chapter on seed catalogs though, and how the marketing of seeds varies from company to company, from the industrial and utilitarian to the morally self-righteous.  I also liked the chapter on wilderness areas, and the conflict between keeping them wild and keeping them safe for human enjoyment.  We hiked in a number of places last year that had seen the effects of bad storms, and in some spots the trails were such a mess they were not passable, forcing us to wade through streams or go off-trail, something we would normally not do.  But in a true wilderness area no one would be out there with gravel and a chainsaw; it’s a little rich to want to go into the wilderness and then whine about how inconvenient it is.  And I kind of have to wonder if gardening is a similar conceit, at least for someone like me who has utterly no idea of what she is doing.  Pollan writes about how some argue that certain people just have “green thumbs”, almost instinctively knowing how to help plants along, while others argue that gardening is like anything else, a skill that can be learned with time and attention.  Sometimes I think things may just grow in spite of us, rather than because of us, because nature knows a lot more than we do.  But I admit, I was pretty tickled to see my little green tomato shoot, a validation (however small) that things can grow on my watch.

 

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

