Chevrons (Work in Progress)

At the beginning of this year I was of the mind to use up the yarn and fabric that I have lying around the house.  I decided I would only buy stuff to finish projects – like backing for a quilt, for example, or a set of knitting needles I might need for a particular project that I already had the yarn for.

It’s not going so well.

A few weeks ago I drove out to Northampton to visit my friend Sue.  It’s more-or-less in between our respective towns, and we periodically meet for lunch, a little shopping, and always end the day at La Fiorentina, an Italian pastry place.  There’s a little yarn shop on the corner, Northampton Wools, which is a perfectly lovely shop, but no knitter worth her salt can drive past Service Center Road on the way to the highway without swinging into WEBS.

Webs can be…disorienting?  It doesn’t seem that big, until you realize there is a warehouse out back.  It’s the sort of place where you either go with an unlimited budget, or a very specific project in mind to knit.  This trip I had neither, which is dangerous – aside from my bank balance, I had no parameters to limit myself.  And so, when I stumbled upon the delightfully squishy Blue Sky Alpacas worsted cotton, well, I was a goner.  I played with several color combinations, and then put them down and walked away.  And then I replayed this scenario twice more, until I finally caved.  A cream, a steel gray, and a lilac:

???????????????????????????????

When I went to check out I was informed that if I bought one more skein I’d get a discount, and so I ran back and grabbed another cream.  As I drove home I thought I might knit another Purl Dreams, but instead I decided to check Ravelry for pattern recommendations for this particular yarn.  I found this Chevron Baby Blanket pattern, and set to knitting.  The pattern calls for 5 skeins of different colors, but I’m going to see how far I can get on 4 skeins of three colors – alternating cream and colored rows.

???????????????????????????????

I love the yarn – it’s chunky enough to feel substantial, but it’s also light and airy, and extremely soft.  If I ever win the lottery I would totally make a grown-up sized blanket out of this stuff.  Ravelry has some mixed reviews of how it wears, but I’m cautiously optimistic about that; I’ve had no issues while knitting it.  The pattern is easy to memorize too, and while I don’t *love* the chevron design it’s everywhere these days.

The downside is, I’m already dreading weaving in the ends of every color change!

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

