Conundrums

I had a rare afternoon to myself yesterday, which I spent at the sewing machine.  I say that as if I were alone, but in truth the kitty likes to “supervise”.  This means that whenever I sit down at the sewing table she will leap onto me and purr on my shoulder for a solid 5 minutes.  Any attempt to remove her before she is ready results in claws, and so I just hold her until she gets sick of it.  She will periodically return to check in on me, until I move on to something else.

I’d get a lot more done without her around, is what I’m saying.

In between the cat snuggling I’ve been trying to make my way through my fabric stash/scraps.  Recently I unearthed this cute old Robert Kauffman print, pulling it together with some yellow, green, orange and brown patchwork squares for a small baby quilt.   After I sewed this up I consulted a book on color theory, because even though the colors all match those used in the multi-print something seemed off.  If you take out the brown, I basically used three analogous colors (green, yellow, orange) and then blue as an opposite accent.  That’s a totally legit color combination, and yet something is bothering me about it.  

???????????????????????????????

I spent this (yet again) snowy evening hand-sewing the binding and watching the Olympics while thinking about my high school band director.  Apparently he passed away today, and the minute the news broke my Facebook feed was filled with some variation of “THE HALLWAY IS NOT A LOUNGE”, which he always used to holler half-jokingly as we lined up in the hallway waiting for the bell for our next class.  I suppose there are worse epitaphs.

Also, I find the Olympics depressing, in a “what-have-you-done-with-YOUR-life-lately” kind of way.  Most of these kids are so young — when I was their age I was being forced to march around in a terribly ugly and itchy band uniform at football games (about which I could not have possibly cared less).  On the other hand?  ORIGINAL KNEES.

Finally, one of my favorite books – Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin – has been adapted into a movie.  To see or not to see, that is the question.  The reviews have not been kind, and I fear that any adaptation will leave me unfulfilled.  And yet, the curiosity will undoubtedly get the better of me.

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

