New Year, New Knitting

???????????????????????????????

Between the snowstorm yesterday and feeling the twinges of a cold coming on, I took to my bed along with my knitting and Warehouse 13 episodes on Netflix.  Such an old-fashioned phrase – “I took to my bed” – but it worked; I feel much better today.  Not well enough to go out in the seven-below degree weather and shovel snow, mind you, but better.

I don’t usually buy books at my local yarn store, but I saw this one (Botanical Knits by Alana Dakos) and immediately had to have it.  The patterns are the sorts of things that I wish *I* had designed.  Very lovely and feminine and earthy, all with leaf-related motifs that would be nice to wear while hiking around in the woods.  Also, the book is quite well-designed for the knitter – there are both row-by-row instructions as well as charts for the knitting, which I find helpful.  I primarily use the written instructions, but like having the chart to refer to for a visual of how things are supposed to be shaping up (literally and figuratively).  I’ve only partially knit one pattern, but so far it’s been error-free and while a little tricky in a few spots, I’ve been able to use the Techniques and Abbreviations sections to get myself over the hurdles.  It’s also a lovely book to look at, at least for those of us who have a thing for leaves.  I also love that its self-published.  (Though, the model makes me miss all the hair I had cut off this summer.)

Pattern:  Oak Trail cloche; Yarn:  Berroco Vintage in (I think) Charcoal…I had the yarn shop wind the yarn for me, and accidentally left the ball band behind. 

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

