I Wasn’t Seeing Things

This afternoon the VEB was catching up on the Walking Dead, a show I.  Cannot.  Even.  Just…no.   So, I was knitting and looking anywhere but the television screen when I noticed that the top of one of the telephone poles outside was moving in a very odd fashion. Upon further investigation, I was quite pleased to see this beautiful hawk:

Hawk on Pole

Hawk on pole 2

I ran outside to take these pictures, but unfortunately by the time I got back inside the house, s/he had flown off so I didn’t get to see how big the wingspan was.  I’m pretty sure this is a red tailed hawk, since it’s November, even though the tail looks more brown than red here.  It might be a broad winged hawk, but from what I’ve read in my bird books they usually have migrated south by now.  Either way, it’s a beautiful bird, and that beak is quite a weapon!

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

