Domestic Adventures

The crockpot was pulled out and turkey chili was made – and it was okay.  Not bad, not great.  More experimentation is needed.  Well, to be precise, more seasoning is needed.  I put in what I thought to be a nasty amount of chili powder, but it definitely needed more.  Or more garlic?  I don’t quite know.

Otherwise it was a productive day with several little projects wrapped up, all of which were in various stages of completion:

1)   A kid-sized Honey Cowl, knit out of Grace Hand-dyed by Louisa Harding and made for the similarly-named niece.  I don’t know if it will “cowl” much, but I was afraid of making it much bigger, as she’s fairly petite.

???????????????????????????????

2.   A little hat, made out of the yarn my mom bought me from A Wrinkle in Thyme up in Maine, with a little embroidery attempted:

???????????????????????????????

3.   A tiny little pair of baby mittens:

???????????????????????????????

4.   For my other niece, an attempt at this make-up bag tutorial, which bears a suspicious resemblance to my new couch pillow covers.  This was harder than I thought it would be to make, and admittedly it looks pretty home-made.  Part of the problem was that the pattern calls for an 8″ zipper, but the fabric store only had 7″ zippers, so I had to improvise.  (What I should have done is buy a 9″ zipper and shorten it.)  I’ll try making one of these again, swapping out the linen for something lighter, and maybe ditching the batting for just some interfacing.

???????????????????????????????

Honestly?  This barely puts a dent in the half-started projects lying around here, but it feels good to have at least a few finished up.  At least, it makes me feel less guilty about starting new projects!

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

