Long Weekending

1)   Really loving the Florence + the Machine album “Ceremonials”.  Especially this track.

2)  The second season of “Once Upon A Time” is up on Netflix, and I am guilty of sneaking upstairs at my parents house to binge-watch several episodes.

3)  The tendonitis is not happy.  I am not happy either, as I can only knit a few rows at a time and now travel with both ice pack and heating pad.

4)  Dear Amato’s, nothing can compare to your spaghetti with meat sauce.  I might have also snuck in a Real Italian, even though I don’t like ham and I take off all the onions, peppers, and olives.

5)   My parents & I went for a short hike in Lovell, on land owned by the Greater Lovell Land Trust.  My camera and I have been having some issues, and I was disappointed I didn’t come back with better shots.  Here are a few:

???????????????????????????????

Heald Pond

???????????????????????????????

Cloud reflection on pond

???????????????????????????????

Creek foam

Pond lily

Pond lily

6.   My favorite shot of the weekend, taken from my mom’s car, which just pretty much sums up everything about the little town I grew up in:

???????????????????????????????

Local lost cows

7)   Lots of family stories, mostly from my grandmother, who is 86 and will likely outlive us all.  She has virtually no wrinkles and while she admits her memory isn’t quite what it used to be, she has not lost her sense of humor.  One of my all-time favorite stories is the one where she was driving my grandfather somewhere, and they stopped at a convenience store and he went in to buy some beer.  He came out and put the beer in the back seat, and then my grandmother drove off, thinking he was in the back seat.  My grandfather really wasn’t the sort of person to be amused by this, which makes it an even funnier story to me.  I can picture him mad quite easily, mainly because when we were kids Nan used to put Sousa marches on the record player and give us kids metal pots and spoons to bang, as we stomped through the house.  There was not any more sure-fire way to send him storming out to his workshop than Sousa.

8)  If you are in the area and have not gone to Pie Tree Orchard, go there immediately and buy some apple cider donuts.  Plus, the Kings own it.  Yeah, those Kings.  Incidentally, I spent a fair amount of time this weekend wondering what it would be like if Waterford was Under the Dome.  The one conclusion I came to is, there’s no way anyone would give up their guns for the good of the whole town.  Not with those cows on the loose, anyway.

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

