The Bucket List

Ugh.  It’s mid-day on a Saturday, hot and humid.  Any second now the clouds will swoop in and let loose sheets of rain, rain that won’t cool anything down.  Not a good day for hiking or picture taking, is what I’m saying.  And so, while he hunts zombies, I’m sitting on the VEB’s couch literally in front of the air conditioner, contemplating all that I want and need to do in the next 40 years.  It’s kind of a long list.

I should probably get started on that list.

***

Query:  does actually writing down the list count as working on it?

*** 

Earlier we walked downtown and bought strawberries and golden beets at the farmer’s market, along with some mixed salad greens.  We got the last pint of strawberries to be had, and they are so good that it seems criminal to think that there are people in this world who will never taste a just-picked-this-morning berry.  We both dream about having a garden someday, the irony being that when I was little and my parents had a garden I simply loathed anything to do with it.  Related to the gardening, as I did last summer I’m getting the urge to learn about canning.  And jam-making.  And bread making too.  Homemade jam on fresh bread just out of the oven?  Yum.

Also at the farmer’s market was a guy singing and playing a guitar.  “I want to do that”, I said out loud.  The VEB astutely pointed out that he’s never heard me play, which is true; my guitar has been gathering dust in a corner of my living room ever since I met the VEB.  Indeed, however welcome his arrival in my life has been, he’s been a bit of a distraction these past few (9!) months.  I’m getting ready to dust off the guitar, though.  Not now, but soon.

Spanish.  I neeeeeed to learn Spanish.

Pottery.  When I was in college one of my roommates was a ceramics major.  I always, always wanted to take a class but could never fit it into my schedule.  And here I am, 20 years later, and still have yet to sit at a wheel.  Must remedy this soon.

My apartment is still littered with half-finished knitting and quilting projects.  And there is much about photography left to be learned.  I’m still using a point-and-shoot, for heaven’s sake.  I  haven’t learned how to shoot in RAW format or use Photoshop, either.

Dad keeps telling me I need to write a book.  I want to write a book.  Or a play.  Or a screenplay.  Instead, I read Haven Kimmel’s memoirs over and over again, cursing how she took her quirky little family stories and turned them into books that read like novels.  It’s infuriating, really.

And then – so many places to hike, to travel to.  So many books to read,so many birds and trees and flowers to identify, and so many constellations to learn.  And this is the part where my head starts to spin, because sometimes it feels like one lifetime just isn’t enough to take it all in.

***

I’m adding “take a strawberry-induced nap” to this list just so I can cross something off from it.

???????????????????????????????

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

