Long Term WIP’s

I tend to have short-term projects and long-term projects.  Both categories are subject to being cast aside for newer projects at any given time, only to reappear years later at the bottom of a basket or box, so it’s really the initial intent of the project that determines the classification.  The long-term projects are ones I start knowing they will take awhile, and knowing that they will occasionally get set aside for other projects.  Blankets are definitely long-term projects, just due to their sheer size, and right now I’ve got two in progress – in two different mediums.

Truthfully, I haven’t had much quilting mojo lately.  I quit my local guild because I felt like it was sucking up all my sewing time, but then promptly filled that time up with knitting. The VEB’s friends are having a baby, though, and the dad-to-be is an arborist, and I had this tree fabric sitting around, and….here’s a peek:

Tree Quilt

I like making baby quilts, in no small part because I can hand quilt them in a reasonable amount of time.  I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to machine quilting – I don’t really like it all that much.  For one thing, I like taking the time to do it by hand, it feels more authentic to me – however impractical and time consuming.  For another thing, the few things I have had professionally machine quilted were so heavily quilted they didn’t feel like anything I wanted to curl up under; all that threadwork makes the fabric stiffen up in an unpleasant-to-me way.  My grandmother tied almost all of her work, and I actually prefer that to machine quilting.

I also like baby quilts because let’s face it, babies don’t care when triangle points aren’t precise.  And, oh my, my piecing in this project was pretty badly done, which is why there’s not a picture of the whole quilt here.  *sigh*  As the Amish say, only God is perfect.

***

On the knitting front, I became fascinated with this pattern I saw on Ravelry.  It’s called Maine Woven Baby Blanket, and the recommended yarn is Swans Island, which has a fascinating story you should go read about here.  In addition to yarn, the company makes beautiful heirloom blankets that I will never, ever be able to afford.  Sadly, when I went to buy Swans Island yarn it became clear that I couldn’t afford the yarn for this project either, which was really too bad as it’s beautiful and it’s just the sort of company I’d like to support.  Alas, another day.  Instead, I’m using some 100% organic cotton yarn from Classic Elite called Seedling.  Normally I’m not a fan of using cotton yarn but this stuff is really nice to knit, and it’s machine washable to boot.  The colors are called “Summer Cloud” and “Persimmon”, perfect for a summer baby blanket:

Creamsicle Blanket

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

