January Thaw

Sunday brought sunshine and 40-degree weather, so VEB and I moseyed on over to River Bend.  I was so happy to be back that I got a bit misty-eyed as we pulled into the parking lot.  We stalked an elusive cardinal for awhile, but ultimately I had to console myself with a (slightly blurry) shot of this little guy instead:

Gray Bird

Why does wandering around taking pictures make me so happy?  I have no idea.  Here’s another one though:

Nest

 ***

On our drive over there we listened to This American Life,  which was broadcasting a story about a guy who decided to follow in the steps of Peace Pilgrim (Episode 483, Self Improvement).  He gave everything away and started walking across the country.  After the third day, he saw (or hallucinated) a billboard that said “It’s okay to make mistakes, as long as they are new ones”.

Indeed.

***

 I started cleaning out my spare room.  I found the CD with my camera manual fairly quickly, along with a bag full of scrap fabric.  One thing led to another, as these things do, and I spent Friday night sitting on my living room floor Netflixing (is that a proper verb yet?) while turning my scraps into 3” squares.  And then I started mindlessly sewing them together, in as much of an uncomposed manner as I could muster.  It’s a glorious mess.

***

This, however?  just glorious.

Winter in Uxbridge

 ***

Reading:  Daring Greatly by Brene Brown

Watching:  The Vicar of Dibley

Listening:  Lucy Wainright Roche

Knitting:  big gray cowl

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

