Elvis Is Everywhere

Remember that Mojo Nixon song?  

So I finally finished a quilt.  It’s a small wall hanging-ish sort of quilt, I suppose, maybe big enough for a baby quilt (but I’m not giving this one away, so wall quilt it is).  This was my “friendship quilt” project last year with my quilt guild.  I said I wanted “scrappy log cabin blocks”, and the lady who drew my name made me six log cabin blocks – two blue/yellow, two blue/pink, and two blue/purple.  It was simultaneously nothing that I ever would have thought of and just what I wanted.  I hand quilted circles all over it and, as they say,  voila:

I love the yellow, and I love how the pink sets off the blue.  And I love that from far away it looks wonderfully artsy, but up close there are all sorts of little bits of odd fabrics.  Cats, dogs, clouds, princesses, flowers….

…and the very King himself.

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

