Domestic Pursuits

Adventures aside, around here it’s mostly been a lot of tucking in and getting ready for the winter ahead.  The past few winters have been quite mild, and I worry this year the Farmer’s Almanac will be right and that we’re in for a doozy. Yesterday it turned unseasonably cold, and we spent the day indoors watching the Doctor Who marathon/special, with chocolate-chip banana bread.  (And because there is a fine line when it comes to having bananas that are juuuuust right for making banana bread, we also killed a lot of fruit flies.  Good lord deliver me from fruit flies, and I don’t care what the internet says, there are no miracle solutions to getting rid of them other than whacking them with a dishtowel.  Trust me, I’ve tried them all.)

Anyway.  Today the wind gusted something fierce and howled around the corners of the house, sending the cat under the bed to hide.  We broke out the cribbage board and  Carcassonne;  meanwhile, as a pre-Thanksgiving experiment I attempted to make candied sweet potatoes in the crock pot.  (Which was just sort of “meh”.  I’m going with the butternut squash experiment from a few weeks ago instead, even if it does necessitate another trip to the grocery store.)

And then, there’s my ongoing efforts to reduce the fabric stash.  I’ve been spending a fair amount of time cutting up my scraps into more useable, more easily storeable squares in a variety of sizes, from 2.5″ to 5″.  These will later be sewed up into scrap quilts.  That solves some of my problems, but I still have a lot of larger pieces, somewhere between quarter and half yards, that I wasn’t thrilled about chopping up.  I stumbled upon this tutorial by Film in the Fridge for round-bottomed storage containers, and thought I’d give it a whirl.  They were a little tricky to sew, frankly; I’ve since made a third one and I still haven’t quite got the hang of it yet.

???????????????????????????????

Honestly, they bear a not-unpleasant resemblance to ice cream containers.  Wobbly seams aside, I like them and think they will be useful.  (They came in handy this afternoon for holding the Carcassone tiles.)  Beyond using up fabric, I also like that even despite the difficult curved seams these don’t take very long to sew up.  I have so many other projects in varying degrees of completion right now, and sometimes it’s just nice to FINISH something.

Finally, more knitting.  This is the Cupido cowl, in some fabulous blue Koigu.  This pattern is ridiculously easy to memorize (hallelujah and hooray), and it produces a very interesting-looking fabric.  After my past few projects it’s nice to have something easy and relaxing to knit!

blue cowl

About Lori Allen Writes

Lori is plotting to take over the world one essay, one quilt, and one hand knit sock at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

